Monday, April 4, 2011

THE BATFISH BOYS - lurve 1986 lp

The Batfish Boys (later simply called Batfish) were a gothic rock/garage rock/rockabilly band from York, England, active between 1984 and 1990, releasing three albums.

The band was formed by former March Violet Simon Detroit (b. Simon Denbigh)(vocals), and ex-Skeletal Family drummer Martin Pink, along with Johey Elliott (guitar), and T.G. Ashton (bass).[1] Their goth-rock tendencies soon gave way to a more Stooges-influenced garage rock sound, with "Swamp Liquor" their first release on their own Batfish Inc. label in 1985, followed soon after by debut album The Gods Hate Kansas,[1] prompting comparisons to the likes of The Cramps and The Gun Club.[2] In 1986, Zero Rek was added on guitar, the band's second album, Head, also appearing that year, now with psychedelic blues overtones.[2] With the band's sound getting progressively heavier, and with a new rhythm section, they were signed by Motörhead's label GWR in 1987, shortening their name to Batfish, the first release on the label being 1988's "Purple Dust" single.[1] 1989 saw the release of the band's third album, Batfish Brew, followed by a 12-inch picture-disc single, a mash-up cover of Queen's "Another One Bites The Dust" and "Purple Haze". The band split shortly afterwards. Simon Denbigh was declared Cult Hero No 36 by Classic Rock Magazine in 2010..........


1.swamp liquor guns
3.hound of death
4.lootenant lush
5.detroit chrome mountain
6.are you gonna be there [ at the love in]
7.not enough blue
8.amoeba rock
9.the bomb song
10.i'm a cadillac with gas


No comments:

Post a Comment