Sunday, August 21, 2011

DANSE SOCIETY - 2000 light years from home 7' ep 1984

The Danse Society were a positive punk group from Barnsley, England, active from 1981 to 1986.
Their line-up was: Steve Rawlings (voice), Paul Nash (guitar), Lyndon Scarfe (keyboards) up to January 1985 then replaced by David Whittaker, Tim Wright (bass) and Paul Gilmartin (drums).

In 1981 they released their first Single on their own imprint Society Records.
After various successful releases which where doing well in the Independent Charts their most popular Album, 'Heaven is Waiting', was released February 1984 via Arista.

Various hassles with Arista and the mainstream public during 1985 led to a cancelled follow up LP, the departure of Lyndon Scarfe and new recordings for the final Album 'Looking Through' which was released August 1986 back again on Society Records.
Singer Stephen Rawlings reappeared with a new band in 1987 simply called Society with one single; "Saturn Girl".
Rawlings then continued to pursue his path in music with the electronic act Meridian Dream.
While the other band members toured as Johnny In The Clouds with new Singer Mark Copson from Music For Pleasure but without releasing any more material before calling it a day.
Out of their Managment and Label grew Big Life Records.

They are planning to release a new album in 2011.


1.2000 light years from home
2.seen the light
3.the sway


No comments:

Post a Comment